Blues Bites: Stonecrazy

Excerpt From:
Blues Revue
Issue No. 97 / December – January 2006

Blues Bites
Reviews in Brief
By Tom Hyslop

Also hailing from New England, Stonecrazy (Black Rose 1029) is a four-piece built around brothers Babe and Ken Pino (on harp/vocals and guitar, respectively), with Mark Hylander (drums) and Danny Klein (bass) rounding out the lineup, aided by Seth Justman on keyboards, Al Wilson on organ, and producer Jay Geils on guitar.A strong selection of covers, including four from Johnny Copeland (Ken Pino’s former employer) and one each from Joe “Guitar” Hughes, Delbert McClinton, Mack Rice, and Magic Slim, indicates the band’s direction.Though the vocals aren’t up to the excellent standards of the musicianship, there’s a deep reading of O.V. Wright’s “Born All Over” and a funky take on “Blues Ain’t Nothin’” that shows Pino learned his lessons well.